Our May Author Takeover is by Cat Clarke, whose latest YA novel, "Girlhood", is a darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief. Set in a boarding school in Scotland, the familiar halls are the perfect place for "Potter" fans to escape to in this compulsive, addictive read. Yet there are some sinister secrets that threaten to tear friendships apart.

Our April Author Takeover features Aliette de Bodard talking about something the "Potter" fandom knows all about: warring Houses. Join Aliette as she discusses her own House wars and the continuation of the beautiful "Dominion of the Fallen" series.

Our new Author Takeover comes from New York Times–bestselling author of "The Lunar Chronicles" Marissa Meyer, with her new novel, "Heartless". The "Potter" fandom knows all about characters with a predetermined fate, and we're well used to the idea of the Chosen One. In Marissa's "Heartless", we have a vision of Wonderland like none you've seen before.

When Mary Adams sees Millais’ depiction of the tragic Ophelia, a whole new world opens up for her. Determined to find out more about the beautiful girl in the painting, she hears the story of Lizzie Siddal – a girl from a modest background, not unlike her own, who has found fame and fortune against the odds. Mary sets out to become a Pre-Raphaelite muse, too, and reinvents herself as Persephone Lavelle.

The first of our March Author Takeovers comes from Gemma Fowler. Her new novel, "Moonlight", is an edge-of-your-seat sci-fi thriller with a contemporary voice. Gemma would be pleased as punch to find herself on the highest tower of Hogwarts. Her soul is still and always will be 13 years old, and her characters embrace teenage rebellion and refusal to blindly comply with authority, much like our Golden Trio.

Our final February Author Takeover comes from Lisa Williamson, whose second novel, "All About Mia", is out now from David Fickling Books. In this standalone after her first book, "The Art of Being Normal", Lisa now turns to look at family dynamics and the structure of sibling personality types.

Just imagine: what would your year look like if you read only marginalized authors? What would the world look like if we all did the same? And how many books do you read each year, anyway? If it’s more than 30, I challenge you to pick up every one of these. I know you can do it!

Today, our Author Takeover is by Sharon Gosling, whose Scandi Noir YA horror novel, FIR, is out now as part of the RED EYE series from Stripes Books. Set in the middle of an isolated ancient forest in Sweden, FIR has a menacing and claustrophobic atmosphere that haunts the misadventures of a family stranded, surrounded by the might and magic of trees.

To celebrate book lovers everywhere, this month we have a series of Author Takeovers. The first comes from the hilarious Maz Evans, whose book, "Who Let The Gods Out?", is a new, exciting, and brilliantly British, Percy Jackson-esque adventure – the first in a series centered on the Olympian gods.

This month's Author Takeover comes from Alwyn Hamilton discussing the trials and tribulations of writing a second book. The characters from her first book, Rebel of the Sands, return with Traitor to the Throne. We have three copies up for grabs for readers in UK & Ireland, find out more below!

Book review: “The Firework-Maker’s Daughter” by Philip Pullman
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

This short story from the author of "I Was a Rat!" and "Clockwork" takes place in an unnamed kingdom, where a girl named Lila has been raised by her firework-maker father. She wants to follow in his footsteps, but he thinks a girl’'s place is to get married. Meanwhile, her best friend Chulak is planning to run away with the king’s talking white elephant, Hamlet, whom Chulak takes out for exercise.

Book review: “Clockwork, or All Wound Up” by Philip Pullman
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

The author of "His Dark Materials" brings us this short, award-winning tale of horror, in which a desperate clockmaker'’s apprentice accepts an offer of help from a devilish doctor, and a sweet innkeeper’s daughter struggles to help an innocent little boy who has something seriously wrong inside him.

Book review: “The Slippery Map” by N.E. Bode
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

This story, supposedly told to N. E. Bode by the nuns themselves, is about a boy named Oyster R. Motel (!), raised in the convent where he was left in a basket as a tiny baby. Though the unpleasant Mrs. Fishback (who "helps" the silent nuns with any business that requires speaking) has nothing nice to say about Oyster, he is clearly loved by the nuns - especially Sister Mary Many Pockets, who found him on the steps.

Book review: “Johnny and the Bomb” by Terry Pratchett
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

Now, in the third installment of the "Johnny Maxwell" trilogy, Johnny adds a new skill: time travel. At first, his interest in the World War II bombing of a street in his town only extends as far as a school project. Then he gets mixed up with a mad lady named Mrs. Tachyon, who has been around since his grandfather was a boy

Book review: “Making Money” by Terry Pratchett
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

This second Moist von Lipwig novel also seems to be the last book in the long-running "Discworld" series. It's a pity, too. For even after so many years and so many books, this one seems full of youthful energy and the promise of things to come.

Book review: “Going Postal” by Terry Pratchett
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

If you had a name like Moist von Lipwig, you would probably change it. Especially if you were a con artist with a forgettable face and a criminal mind. Moist changes more than his name. He changes his appearance, changes his address, and with his gift of persuasion he changes the net worth of a lot of people, usually by taking advantage of their innate greed. Through one scam after another Moist has become very rich, but he keep…

Book review: “The Truth” by Terry Pratchett
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

The 25th title in the popular "Discworld" series is called "The Truth2, and to tell the truth, I enjoyed it thoroughly. In the tradition of "Moving Pictures" and "Soul Music", it introduces a new hero who, in turn, introduces a new pop-culture art form into the fragile reality of Ankh-Morpork. Unlike those two prior instances, however, the journalist with the movable-type printing press who introduces the concept of a daily news…

Book review: “Homecoming” by Cynthia Voigt
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

This is the story of four siblings, between the ages of six and thirteen, whose mother leaves them sitting in a parked car in a strange town and never comes back. Sammy, the baby of the family, is stubborn and proud, considered a trouble child by many adults. Gentle, soft-spoken Maybeth, on the other hand, is often mistaken for a mentally retarded child. Boy genius James wakes up every day realizing that “It’s still true.” And D…

Book review: “Johnny Tremain” by Esther Forbes
Book Reviews / January 1, 2013

The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of "Paul Revere and the World He Lived In" revisited that world in this book, which won the Newbery Medal in 1944. It views the early stages of America's struggle for independence from the British Empire through the eyes of a young silversmith's apprentice.